James D. Blakemore

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences - Chemistry
Assistant Professor
Primary office:
office: 785-864-3019
University of Kansas
1251 Wescoe Hall Dr.
Lawrence, Kansas 66045
Second office:
lab: 785-864-4633


James Blakemore is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Kansas. James was raised in Kansas, and studied chemistry with Francis D’Souza at Wichita State University, graduating in 2007. James then moved to Yale University, completing his Ph.D. in Chemistry in 2012 as a student of Gary Brudvig and Robert Crabtree. Upon completing his Ph.D., James did postdoctoral work at Caltech with Harry Gray as a Fellow of the NSF CCI Solar Fuels Program and a Prize Fellow of the Resnick Sustainability Institute.

At KU since 2016, James has initiated a research program that is broadly centered on preparation and study of tailored inorganic and organometallic compounds that can provide insight into energy conversion. A portion of this work is aimed at developing new media for conversion of carbon dioxide in collaboration with Profs. Kevin Leonard and Bala Subramaniam at the KU Center for Environmentally Beneficial Catalysis. In 2018, James was named a recipient of a US DOE Early Career Award and a US NSF EPSCoR Research Fellowship. Most recently, in 2019, James received formal training in electrochemistry as a participant in the Cyclic Voltammetry International School, hosted by the Laboratoire d'Electrochimie Moléculaire at Université Paris Diderot.


Senior Postdoctoral Scholar in Chemistry, Caltech, 2012-2015
PhD, Yale University, 2012
BS, BA, Wichita State University, 2007

Recent News

18 October 2019 – This week, a special symposium on "Energy Conversion with Molecules & Interfaces" was organized by James and Prof. Cindy Berrie at the Midwest Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society! Thanks to our invited speakers Prof. Shelley Minteer (Univ. of Utah), Prof. Bryce Sadtler (Wash. Univ. in St. Louis), Dr. Aaron Sattler (ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Co.), Prof. Jason Applegate (Emporia State Univ.), and Julie Hopkins (Blakemore Group, KU). Thanks also to the sponsors of our symposium: Shimadzu Instrument Co., MDPI Molecules, and the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry.

1 July 2019 – Congratulations to our former postdoc Dr. Davide Lionetti, who has started his independent career as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Franklin & Marshall College in Lancaster, Pennsylvania! F&M, founded in 1787, is a prestigious liberal arts college that is among the oldest institutions of higher education in the US. We thank Davide for his foundational leadership of our group, and wish him all the best for new endeavors!!!

9 April 2019 – Congratulations to our undergraduate researchers Emily Boyd and Shaun Kelsey, who have been named recipients of US NSF Graduate Research Fellowships! The NSF GRF is among the most prestigious fellowships in the US, and provides full support for three years of graduate study. Way to go!

Funding Sources

Our work is supported by the US Department of Energy, US National Science Foundation, KU Hall Chemical Research Fund, the Chevron Phillips Chemical Co. LP and the Spring Creek Fund.